3 months 15 days old

Christmas this year was an amazing whirlwind. Because I’m staying home with the girls for now, we were able to travel several hours to my grandpa’s and spend four days visiting my family. The only other time the babies have really traveled was when we drove to the OI clinic three hours away when they were six weeks old, so I wasn’t sure how they would do. Violet cried off and on during our drive, but Layla never made a peep. They both had a little trouble adjusting to being in a different place, with people in their faces and constant car rides from one family gathering to another. And, I found out that I seriously underestimated how much work it is to care for twins by myself! I was pretty exhausted by the time my husband arrived on Christmas morning. It was a good exhaustion though, and I’m not complaining–I am so fortunate to have had a chance to celebrate this holiday as a foursome this year, and I never lose sight of that.

I was so excited to dress them in pretty Christmas dresses this year!

Violet and Layla are really starting to grasp some new concepts. They figured out how to push the toys on their bouncy seat to make the toy bar light up and play music:

 Both babies are getting really good at holding up their heads, so Violet has been trying out her bumbo seat on occasion. She only sits in it for a few minutes before she gets mad (not sure if it’s uncomfortable or if it just wears her out to hold her head up), so photo ops are few and far between.

 Just today, they both learned to grab the rings hanging from their activity gym:

 

They are both changing by the week, and it is so exciting to see. Their four-month appointment is coming up in less than a month, and I can’t wait to hear if we get to start some type of baby food! They received a Babea baby food maker and two cookbooks for Christmas, and I’m excited to prepare food for them to try starting when they reach approximately the six-month mark. I’m trying to live in the moment and appreciate every second, but I’m always looking forward to the future excitedly!

Tomorrow the babies have an appointment at the local children’s hospital to receive their second Pamidronate infusion, the medication that will help to strengthen their bones and hopefully halt the number of fractures. My dad is going with me to help out, since my husband is now back at work full-time after being on FMLA leave all this time. They must have an IV placed to receive the medicine, so I’m a little nervous about that. However, we believe the medicine has already helped and are considering it a necessary evil. In the past eight weeks since their first infusion, they have each suffered only one fracture (knock on wood please). This compares to the three weeks prior to their first infusion, when between the two of them, they broke six bones. Only time will tell if the medicine will really make a huge difference, but we are happy with the results so far. I will update soon with a recap of their treatment!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

