How Do You Know About New Posts On My Blog?

V&L are growing and doing so much new stuff that I need to write about! I am working on it, but in the meantime, I have a question…

When I publish a new blog post, how do you know about it? Do you use Google Reader?

If you haven’t already heard, Google is retiring Google Reader at the beginning of July. I’ve noticed that some of the bloggers I follow are recommending that their readers connect with them on Twitter to find out about new blog posts. I’m still in the Dark Ages and have never used Twitter. I also don’t have a smartphone yet (crazy, right?!). So with Google Reader going away, I’m wondering if the time is right to retire this blog. After all, if no one will be notified of new posts, no one will be reading anyway. And although I find writing therapeutic, I don’t have much time to sit down and really focus on it. When I do write, it’s usually because, like right now, I’m procrastinating about starting something on my never ending to-do list.

When I started this blog, I was a stay-at-home mom with two health-challenged babies. Life was busy, but they napped often enough that I had plenty of time to record those first 11 months. Then Fate intervened last August, and I was offered a consultant position and have been working full-time (mostly from home) for the past seven months. I’m lucky to have a very flexible schedule and only have to work on-site 1-2 days per week, but my days have honestly never been more full. Because I work remotely most of the time, I end up doing the majority of housework, and the girls are at home with me two days per week (they attend a day care center the other three days to give me time to attend meetings or simply to focus [or regain my sanity!]!). My contract is slated to end at the end of the year, and then I’m not sure what my next step will be. But right now, I struggle to find time to write in this blog even though I have plenty to write about! I hate that I’m not recording my girls’ lives like I had envisioned (although I do post hundreds of pictures and dozens of videos each month on FB). I’m certainly not doing this blog any justice by only writing once every several months. And with Google Reader closing up shop, maybe that is a sign.

I will still leave up my CCRM blog, though, so no worries about that! In the meantime, I would love to learn how you are notified of new blog posts so that I can make a more educated decision about this blog’s future. Please share with me!

9 responses

  1. I use Google Reader! And strangely I have not received any notice from them. I don’t use Twitter etc and I don’t think those types of social media really work like something like Google Reader where I can subscribe to blogs and have only those feeds show up. I am not happy about the end of Reader but supposedly there are some other similar services out there.

  2. I use google reader, but I will be able to import all of my RSS feeds from Google Reader into Feedly or another service, so I will keep being notified in exactly the same way. So, as far as I am concerned, carry on blogging!

  3. Oh Em. Please, please, please don’t quit your blog – even if you only update it every now and then. I love reading about V&L and seeing them grow! Since your blog is in my roll call, I see your new posts on the side of my blog.

  4. I use google reader, but I’ll definitely be switching to a different RSS reader in the next couple of months here (as will everyone else I’ve been talking to). WordPress has a reader, but I’m not a huge fan of it. I do think that another program will rise from the ashes of Google Reader to take over as the next new powerhouse for this type of thing though. šŸ™‚

    Also, those articles that recommend connecting through Twitter and FB have NO IDEA what the blog community it like, especially the IF blog community. That just makes no sense as well (not to mention that a lot of ppl don’t connect their IF blog identity to their real life Twitter/FB accounts).

    At any rate, do what ya gotta do. šŸ™‚ I still enjoy reading your updates though!

  5. I find out because I check it every now and then or because other blogs I check have a link to at updated post on your blog. I’m probably in the minority in the way I check blogs. I’ve enjoyed both your blogs. Your first blog gave me so much hope when I was cycling at CCRM (we even both have dogs named Lulu!) and your second blog has been fun to read as your twins are only a few months older than mine. I really hope you keep blogging as I love hearing about V&L an seeing how they grow!

  6. Hi.
    I notice new Blog posts the old fashioned way–I guess–in that your Website is in my overcrowded Favorites page. I scroll down, click, and there you are!! I’ve never heard of this Google Read. And I do not have a Facebook or Twitter account, although, perhaps someday…. šŸ˜‰
    Please don’t stop posting on this Blog!! You can always–for a while–just post pictures of your sweet girls. Because, I understand that writing for a Blog is time-consuming!! ;-D
    However. Should you choose to give up this Blog, then peace out, my Friend. I will miss your adorable little girls. {And you!!}.
    –Raelyn

  7. Hmm, I use Google Reader too and haven’t heard anything about it going away. That will suck big time! I love reading your updates so I hope you won’t stop posting occasionally.

  8. As a fellow CCRM gal, I have been following you and your girls journey for a while! I hope you will continue blogging when you have time (I know easier said than done). I receive an e-mail each time you post – not sure what I will do when reader goes away – haven’t had time to research the options.

Leave a Reply

